Khuda Hafiz Mumbai

I’ve boiled my last pot of drinking water, hand-washed my last bucket of clothing, and had my last sitaphal (custard apple).  I’m just about out of washing powder, peanut butter, and rhododendron syrup.  It’s time for me to go.

I leave behind some amazing people, whom I haven’t seen often enough.  (It’s amazing how little you see of friends when you get off the visitor’s circuit and adopt the lifestyle of a resident.) And an amazing city that, despite all it’s infrastructure problems and overpopulation, rocks.

I’m going to miss pani puri, fruit, and fruit juice, auto rickshaws, and clothing that costs Rs. 100 (US$ 2.50).

I’m looking forward to sitting on a western toilet (as opposed to squatting over a hole in the ground), the ambient quiet of life without fans, and sour dough bread and cheese.

Until next time…

1 Response to “Khuda Hafiz Mumbai”


  1. 1 Kendall Mau October 1, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    Yoo-Mi, it was just great to get together with you and Mark in Paris. Strasbourg was great and we ate tons of choucroute garnie. Both came home with bad colds. I’m heading to Nicaragua this Sunday for 2 weeks. Kendall


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 232,532 hits

