“How to Tie a Tie”

Do you know how to tie a tie? I do. Or, I used to. Back when I was in my early 20s – let’s just say more than 20 years ago – I used to wear those skinny, “retro” ties (a la “Annie Hall”) that I found in my father’s closet before I moved out of my parent’s home and into my own apartment in Brooklyn Heights. (That’s in New York, my West Coast friends.) I was very cool then. Trust me.

Hmmm… I wonder if I can still do it. And what was the knot I tied? I really have no idea. Half Windsor, maybe?

Gee… how can I find out? Why, by viewing my friend Geoff Dorn’s new streaming video on his beta site, How-to-Tie-a-Tie-Video.com, of course:

Learn how to tie a tie with easy to follow video instruction from How-to-Tie-a-Tie-Video.com.

Truth be told, memories of my tie tying days came bubbling up to the surface because Geoff, an artist and founder of Pacific Bridge Contemporary Southeast Asian Art Gallery in Oakland, has recently relocated to Portland, OR and is embarking on a new venture – a destination site for how-to vidoes. How to Tie a Tie is his first video.

In order to boost his Google ranks, Geoff has given me an offer I can’t refuse:

For every ten friends who create a link to my site I’ll donate an hour volunteering at the Portland Chinese Classical Garden, which I’ll take you to when you visit. By extension of your efforts you will be helping to maintain a beautiful spot of nature in the heart of the Portland.

Don’t tell Geoff, but I would have helped anyway. OK people – start linking.

So, getting back to tying ties. It turns out that many people don’t know how to tie a tie. According to Geoff: “Most people doing a “how-to” search are looking to tie a tie.”

Enough about ties, I could use a video on How to Wear a Sari. Is this one next, Geoff?

1 Response to ““How to Tie a Tie””


  1. 1 Nod32 Keys June 23, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    This article helped me a lot. Thank you ❤


Leave a Reply

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 231,606 hits

